The Monroe Temple of Liberal Judaism

Meet Our Staff

Jason Greenberg Jason Greenberg

Torah School Director

Education Director Jason Greenberg comes to us from The Academy for Jewish Religion, a pluralistic seminary in Yonkers, where he is entering his fifth year of rabbinical school.

For the past three years Jason was the rabbinic intern at Sinai Free Synagogue in Mount Vernon, where he has had many opportunities to experiment with cutting edge programs and techniques in all phases of synagogue education. Before attending rabbinical school, Jason worked with underprivileged teens in Vermont, and spent a year studying in Israel. He hails from Newington, CT, and currently lives in Danbury, CT with his wife Traci.


carol bermanCarol Berman

Mentch Makers Director

Carol moved from Staten Island, NY to Monroe, NY in 1986 with her husband Larry and children Stephanie and Jason. Being new to the area, they visited Monroe Temple to get a little information on membership and programs for their family. She inquired about a pre-school for her son, Jason, but was told that the temple did not have one. Based on all of the other programs they proceeded to join anyway. The Bermans have been members now for over 26 years. Carol accepted a position in the Torah School and has taught kindergarten, 4th, 6th, 7th and academy classes for 25 years. But being a certified elementary school teacher, and moving into a wonderful new area, her job search led her to accept a position as a pre-school teacher in Tuxedo Park. She remained at Tuxedo Park for 3 years and during that time, Mentsch Makers PreSchool was “born” under the direction of Sorel Goldberg Loeb. She was so excited and wanted to become a teacher in a setting that she called “home”. Approximately 24 years ago, she began her career at Mentsch Makers Pre-School as a teacher for the 3 and 4 year old classes. Shortly thereafter, she became the Co-Director with Sharon Markowitz and then the Director a few years later. She has had the opportunity to work with so many wonderful children, families and staff. She has had the pleasure of helping to welcome the many families and children in our pre-school, create new programs, teach all of our mentsches, mentor new teachers, prepare the children socially, academically and Jewishly, and work with the most wonderful staff. She is so very proud of every child she has had the opportunity to teach and even more grateful for what she has learned from them.


Office Staff Directory

 10704141_10205309070231025_8093326629689463246_nLaura Greco

TS/ Temple Office Assistant


Lisa SteinbergLisa Sternberg

Temple Bookkeeper


Executive Officers 2015-2016

Mike Littman President
Jodi Sander First Vice President
Robert Lipkin Second Vice President
Bill Ledwitz Recording Secretary                                                   Leona Christie Treasurer
Suzanne Schindler Corresponding Secretary
Beth Glass Immediate Past President


Board of Trustees

Mark Ehrenreich
Michael Katzman
Neil Meyers
Jay Auerfeld
Tammy Sabat
David Landres
Debra Ross
Leslye Joseph
Ellen Newman
Denise Markowitz
Lisa Jablonski
David Rosen

Joan Birnbaum (honorary)
Michelle Meyers/(assoc., WRJ)
Lisa Friedman/ (assoc., WRJ)
Dr. Eric Evans (assoc., MAC)
Adam Herrman (assoc., MAC)

Past Presidents

2013-2015 Beth Glass
2011-2013 Dr. Jerry Goldberg
2009-2011 Pam Levine
2007-2009 Dr. David Hill
2005-2007 Bonna Horovitz
2003-2005 Alan Friedfel
2001-2003 Ellen Bechky
1999-2001 Joyce Waschitz
1997-1999 Richard Emanuel
1995-1997 Al Silberlicht
1993-1995 Charlene Hirschberg
1991-1993 Dr. Joseph Epstein
1989-1991 Harold Wolland
1987-1989 Dr. Harvey Feldman
1985-1987 Herbert Weismann
1983-1985 Dr. Jack R. Nizewitz
1981-1983 David L. Levinson
1979-1981 Stanley Moroknek
1975-1977 Dr. Norman Goldberger
1965-1967 Dr. Joseph E. Birnbaum

Shabbat Times