The Monroe Temple of Liberal Judaism

Our History

ln October 12, 1944, the Monroe Jewish Council was formed by 75 Jews, coming together to create an institution to strengthen their house-hist2Jewish heritage. They met in the Odd Fellows Hall on Lake Street, prior to purchasing a white frame residence on Stage Road.

After many long debates and much deliberation, non religious members compromised with the Liberal, Conservative and Orthodox segments and affiliated with the Union of American Hebrew Congregations, UAHC, the national organization of the Reform movement, which has since changed its name to the Union for Reform Judaism, URJ. In February of 1953 the Council’s name was officially changed to the Monroe Temple of Liberal Judaism, Temple Beth-El..

cornerstone

The Monroe Temple of Liberal Judaism thrived, an entity perpetuating our Jewish heritage and faith. Lou Brenner laid the cornerstone for our present building on March 23, 1956, and the congregation has grown from strength to strength in the intervening years. Over the years, Monroe had gone from a summer resort community to a rapidly growing year-round population. Our religious school had increased from a constant of 125 students in the 50s and 60s to a significantly larger number by the 80s, causing overcrowding in our classrooms.

Our congregation realized that we were in need of a larger sanctuary to assure seating, especially during holiday observances, and the physical plant was in need of major repair and renovation. In 1987 we dedicated a major building renovation, which provided us with expanded and redesigned facilities for worship, study and meeting. Over the years, fifteen rabbis have served our pulpit, some briefly, and others who remained longer, providing unique and lasting influences on our spiritual development.

Rabbi Simeon Maslin (1957-1961) came to us in the full bloom of youth, with little prior experience, a fine singing voice, a self-possession rarely found in a 26 year old, and a wit and wisdom he used to weld our congregation into a more unified and cohesive Rabbis institution for learning and worship. From 1973-1984 Rabbi Dr. Kurt Metzger served our community. The strong demeanor of this older, experienced Rabbi was just what was needed to assist us in re-establishing priorities and in moving forward cooperatively. Rabbi Metzger’s stentorian voice and impish good humor commanded our attention and respect, and enabled him to be an effective spiritual leader.

Bringing with him an array of talents rarely found in one spiritual mentor, our present Rabbi Garry A. Loeb came to our pulpit in 1985. He has introduced rituals and liturgy which are a remarkable blend of the very traditional, and the new and innovative. His natural ability RGL 1985to reach out to the young, and make the elderly feel they have relevance, is a gift. He has brought light to our spiritual lives and made our Judaism meaningful and worthy of further study. With wisdom and dry humor, he has participated in our life-cycle events, making them intensely valuable Jewish experiences.

We grew and doubled our membership, with a well established pre-school and Torah School, an active Youth Group, Sisterhood and Men’s Club, and a Continuing Education program which draws significant adult participation. We expanded our involvement with the greater community in meaningful and mentschlekeit ways, and our Rabbi has been active in the Clergy Association, which has afforded him well deserved respect in Orange County. With the tremendous growth, and the unrelenting demands made on our Rabbi, the Board of Trustees realized the need for additional clergy.

In July of 2000, Cantor Martin D. Levson joined us, after 9 years at Temple Israel, in Tulsa, Oklahoma. He brought with him a vast knowledge of liturgical music and history, contemporary Jewish music, Jewish history, and Jewish liturgy. Cantor Levson brought new insight into our traditional music, and engendered renewed excitement for musical participation in the service. He also encouraged an interest in Jewish Meditation and Spirituality. Cantor Levson and his family moved to Hamden, Connecticut in July of 2004, where he accepted a Cantorial position.

Joining our temple in July of 2004, newly invested Cantor Leon Sher brought to us experience working with children and adults, at synagogues, camps, retreats, and conferences around the country. Cantor Sher revitalized our Adult, Teenage and Youth Choirs and brought new music to our services, some of which he composed himself. Cantor Sher moved on to Congregation B’Nai Jeshurun of Franklin Lakes, N.J., in July of 2007.

In July of 2007, Cantor Elena Schwartz joined our congregation, after serving at Temple Emmanu-El in Westfield, N.J. as a student and then assistant cantor. A talented singer and a violinist, as well as an established Jewish educator, Cantor Schwartz was born in the Ukraine, grew up in the former Soviet Union, and came to the United States by way of Israel. Not only did she grace us for six years with her delightful voice, but she served as our Torah School Director.

Most recently, in the summer of 2013, we welcomed both Cantor Elizabeth Goldmann and student Rabbi, Jason Greenberg, as Torah School Director to our congregational family. We look forward to the enrichment they will bring to us.

Our saga as we continue in our seventh decade odyssey continues, and without a doubt, an Elder congregant will be called upon to write a few words for the 75th anniversary, which will be read via electronic medium on the screens of a thousand congregant families.

cain yehe ratzon

May it be G-d’s will.

Acknowledgement: This history was written by Dr. Joseph Birnbaum and edited by Dr. Glorya Covel Smith.



Shabbat Times